# PRESS RELEASE



# **Giuseppina Squicciarini re-elected as Chair of Energy Traders Europe Board**

**Brussels, 19.11.2024** – Energy Traders Europe announces the reappointment of Ms Giuseppina Squicciarini as Chair of the Energy Traders Europe Board.

At the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 14 November, Ms Squicciarini, General Manager of Regulatory Affairs at Shell Energy Europe was re-elected for another year-long term as Chair. Ms Squicciarini is joined by Mr Cemil Altin, Head of Regulatory Affairs at EDF Trading, and Mr Luka Jazbec, Chief Sustainability Officer at GEN-I, who were also reappointed as Vice-Chairs of the Board at the AGM, for another year respectively.

Having first been elected to this position in November 2023, Ms Squicciarini has successfully acted as Chair throughout Energy Traders Europe's 25<sup>th</sup> anniversary year. Speaking after her re-election, she stated:

"I'm honoured that my colleagues have placed their confidence in me for another term. This is a crucial time for Europe, and for Europe's energy markets. With the new Commission set to take to their desks in the coming weeks, and the Clean Industrial Deal a priority on the political agenda, Energy Traders Europe remains committed to improving European competitiveness, enhancing energy security and driving cost-effective decarbonisation. Markets are central to revitalising European competitiveness and I believe the time is right for deeper market integration and further standardisation."

#### **New Board structure**

Following the update to the Energy Traders Europe byelaws, this year also sees a new structure for the Energy Traders Europe Board. Ten candidates were elected to the Board, five of which have a three-year mandate, with the other five having a two-year mandate.





They join the five candidates elected last year, to form a Board of fifteen members. In future, five candidates will be elected each year.

#### **Elected Board members**

Mr Luka Jazbec, GEN-I, Mr Paul Dawson, RWE Supply and Trading, Ms Giuseppina Squicciarini, Shell Energy Europe, and Mr Mark Simons, TotalEnergies Gas and Power, were all re-elected for a three-year term as Board members. We congratulate Mr Davide Rubini, Vitol, who was newly elected for a three-year term on the Board.

Mr Rune Sonne Bundgaard-Jørgensen, Ørsted, Mr Stanislav Kostka, CEZ, and Ms Mariló García Rodríguez, Endesa, were all re-elected for a two-year term as Board members. We congratulate Mr Guy Smith, Vattenfall Energy Trading, and Ms Mariya Manolova, Statkraft Markets GmbH, on being newly elected for a two-year term on the Board.

### **Press Contact**

Lorraine Claffey Communications & Advocacy Associate Email: <u>l.claffey@energytraderseurope.org</u>

## **About Energy Traders Europe**

Energy Traders Europe is the voice of Europe's energy traders. We represent 170 member companies from across the continent, working to promote the role of energy traders in the European energy market.